Buddhism is a major world religion, founded in ancient India by Siddhartha Gautama, who later became known as the Buddha, or the Enlightened One. With over 500 million followers, Buddhism has had a profound impact on the lives and beliefs of people throughout the world. This article provides a quick 10-minute summary of the core beliefs, teachings, and practices of Buddhism.

1. The Life of Siddhartha Gautama

Siddhartha Gautama was born around the 5th century BCE in Lumbini, present-day Nepal. As a young prince, he enjoyed a life of luxury, but soon became aware of the suffering that plagued humanity. This realization led him to renounce his royal lifestyle and embark on a spiritual journey to find the truth. After years of meditation and ascetic practices, Siddhartha attained enlightenment under the Bodhi tree, becoming the Buddha.

2. The Four Noble Truths

The foundation of Buddhism is built on the Four Noble Truths, which outline the nature of suffering, its causes, and the path to end it. They are:

  • Dukkha (suffering): All life is permeated by suffering, dissatisfaction, and impermanence.
  • Samudaya (origin of suffering): The root cause of suffering is craving (tanha) and ignorance (avijja).
  • Nirodha (cessation of suffering): The elimination of craving and ignorance leads to the cessation of suffering, known as Nirvana.
  • Magga (path to cessation): The path to end suffering is the Noble Eightfold Path.

3. The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path provides a practical guide for Buddhists to follow to achieve enlightenment and ultimately, Nirvana. It consists of:

  1. Right View: Understanding the Four Noble Truths and the nature of reality.
  2. Right Intention: Developing pure and selfless intentions in thoughts and actions.
  3. Right Speech: Speaking truthfully, kindly, and constructively.
  4. Right Action: Acting morally and ethically, abstaining from harmful behavior.
  5. Right Livelihood: Engaging in work that is honest, ethical, and does not harm others.
  6. Right Effort: Cultivating positive mental states and abandoning negative ones.
  7. Right Mindfulness: Developing awareness and insight through meditation and mindfulness.
  8. Right Concentration: Developing deep states of meditation and concentration.
  9. The Three Jewels

4. Buddhists take refuge in the Three Jewels, which are:

  • The Buddha: The historical founder and the ideal of enlightenment.
  • The Dharma: The teachings and principles of Buddhism.
  • The Sangha: The monastic community and fellow practitioners.

5. The Three Marks of Existence

The Buddha taught that understanding the Three Marks of Existence leads to a deeper insight into the nature of reality. They are:

  • Anicca (impermanence): All conditioned phenomena are subject to change and decay.
  • Dukkha (suffering): Suffering is an inherent part of existence.
  • Anatta (non-self): There is no permanent, unchanging self or soul.

6. Meditation and Mindfulness

Meditation and mindfulness are essential practices in Buddhism, allowing practitioners to cultivate mental discipline, develop concentration, and gain insight into the nature of reality. Common forms of meditation include:

  • Vipassana (insight meditation): Developing mindfulness and insight into the nature of reality.
  • Samatha (concentration meditation): Cultivating deep states of concentration and tranquility.

7. Main Branches of Buddhism

Buddhism has evolved into three main branches, each with its unique beliefs and practices:

  • Theravada: Known as the “Doctrine of the Elders,” Theravada Buddhism is the oldest and most conservative form of Buddhism. It is practiced primarily in Southeast Asia and focuses on the original teachings of the Buddha, emphasizing the importance of individual self-effort to achieve enlightenment.
  • Mahayana: The “Great Vehicle” is the largest branch of Buddhism, with a diverse range of beliefs and practices. Found mainly in East Asia, Mahayana Buddhism emphasizes compassion and the Bodhisattva ideal – the aspiration to attain enlightenment for the benefit of all sentient beings.
  • Vajrayana: Sometimes considered a sub-branch of Mahayana, Vajrayana Buddhism is primarily practiced in Tibet, Mongolia, and the Himalayan regions. It incorporates esoteric practices, such as deity yoga, mantra recitation, and ritualistic ceremonies, with the aim of achieving enlightenment more rapidly.


Buddhism is a rich and diverse spiritual tradition that has influenced the lives of millions of people for over two millennia. At its core, Buddhism offers a path to alleviate suffering and achieve enlightenment through the practice of moral conduct, meditation, and mindfulness. By understanding the fundamental teachings of the Buddha, such as the Four Noble Truths, the Noble Eightfold Path, and the Three Marks of Existence, one can begin to cultivate a deeper sense of compassion, wisdom, and inner peace.