The prestigious LVMH Prize, established by luxury conglomerate LVMH, has unveiled the winners of its 10th edition, recognizing and supporting emerging fashion designers. This year’s recipients showcase exceptional talent and creativity, representing the future of the industry. Satoshi Kuwata, the visionary behind Setchu, claims the coveted LVMH Prize, while Julie Pelipas of Bettter and Luca Magliano of Magliano share the honor of receiving the Karl Lagerfeld Prize. Alongside substantial grants, these talented designers will benefit from a year-long mentorship program, ensuring their continued growth and success. The LVMH Prize continues to nurture and empower the next generation of fashion innovators.

Satoshi Kuwata of Setchu Wins LVMH Prize

Satoshi Kuwata, the talented designer behind the esteemed brand Setchu, has emerged as the winner of the highly sought-after LVMH Prize 2023. With his exceptional craftsmanship and design sensibilities, Kuwata secures the prestigious accolade, showcasing the brand’s innovation and creativity.

Karl Lagerfeld Prize: Dual Triumph for Julie Pelipas and Luca Magliano

Breaking new ground, the Karl Lagerfeld Prize, the pinnacle of distinction within the LVMH Prize, has been awarded to not one, but two exceptional designers. Julie Pelipas, the visionary founder of the women’s fashion label Bettter, and Luca Magliano, the mastermind behind the poetic and casual designs of his eponymous menswear brand, both claim this coveted honor.

Mentorship and Support: Nurturing the Next Generation of Designers

The LVMH Prize goes beyond recognition and financial support, providing invaluable mentorship opportunities to the winners. Satoshi Kuwata, Julie Pelipas, and Luca Magliano will benefit from a year-long mentorship program, encompassing crucial aspects such as intellectual property, production and distribution, image development, communication, and marketing. LVMH’s commitment to nurturing emerging talent ensures the growth and success of these promising designers.

Distinguished Jury: Industry Leaders Shape the Future of Fashion

The winners of the LVMH Prize were chosen by an esteemed jury comprising eight artistic directors from renowned LVMH Group houses, including Jonathan Anderson, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Nicolas Ghesquière, Marc Jacobs, Kim Jones, Stella McCartney, Nigo, and Silvia Venturini Fendi. In addition to these creative visionaries, Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie, and Sidney Toledano, key executives of the group, lent their expertise to the selection process. The collective wisdom of this distinguished panel shapes the future of fashion and sets new standards of excellence.

Previous Winner’s Success: Steven Stokey-Daley’s Strategic Investment

The success of previous LVMH Prize winners demonstrates the transformative impact of the award. London-based menswear designer Steven Stokey-Daley, last year’s recipient, strategically invested the €300,000 (£258,200) prize into strengthening his e-commerce business. His achievement serves as inspiration for future winners, highlighting the potential for growth and innovation through wise utilization of the LVMH Prize.